File access permission priority determines how Prevent Direct Access Gold grants access to your private WordPress media files. Settings with higher priority will override those with lower one if both are set at the same time.
By default, once a WordPress media file is protected by Prevent Direct Access Gold, it’s only accessible to admin users. You can change this default permission under its settings. Additionally, you can customize individual file access permission using Access Restriction extension. What’s more, you can even grant your private media files access to different membership types with Membership Integration extension.
If you’re using both extensions at the same time, file access permission priority would be slightly confusing to some users.
File Access Permission Priority
#2 Priority: Prevent Direct Access Gold Settings tab
These default options will apply to all of your WordPress media files. For example, if you grant access to all logged-in users, they will be able to access all your protected files uploaded to your WordPress site.
#2 Priority: Membership Integration tab on settings page
If you’re using any of our supported membership plugins, you will have an option to grant media files access to these custom membership types under Membership Integration tab.
This is a global setting that will apply to all files and working together with (not in place of) the File Access Permission under Prevent Direct Access Settings tab. In other words, if you set “Logged-in users” and “Members” under “Settings” and “Membership integration” tab respectively, all logged-in “Members” users will be able to access your protected files.
#1 Priority: File Access Permission tab on individual file protection popup
This option will get the highest priority and override the global settings above. No matter what roles and membership types you’ve granted access on Prevent Direct Access Gold settings page, if you select “No one” permission on a particular file, no-one including admins will be able to access that file.
There is an option to select custom Membership access on each individual file as well. Once you select one, this selection will override both options set under “Settings” and “Membership integration” tab (i.e. only these custom members will be able to access the file – no one else could).